Jun 16  SP8 program at a glance available

Jun 29  Deadline for early-bird registration & abstract submission for posters

September 11, 2023

On September 11, 2023, as a preamble to the SP8 conference, a scientific school aimed at PhD students and young researchers will take place. This topical school will cover the necessary fundamentals of several aspects related to semiconductor photochemistry, from theory, materials design and characterization to high-prospect applications.

Registration with a unique fee of 60 €, as an option in the conference registration process (SP 8 registration platform)

Institut Charles Sadron

The topical school will take place from 9:00 AM to 4:00 PM at the Institut Charles Sadron on the CNRS Campus 23 rue du Loess/25 rue Becquerel 67000 Strasbourg
Bus line G • Stop Arago

Strasbourg public transport companyDownload detailled urban network map

Plan Institut Charles Sadron

August 21, 2023

Online registration deadline for SP8 Thematic School

Program of the topical school


Metrics in photocatalysis & photoelectrochemistry

Prof. Detlef W. Bahnemann

Institut für Technische Chemie, Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Universität Hannover, Germany

Band structure characterization of semiconductors

Dr. Freddy E. Oropeza

Photoactivated Processes Unit, IMDEA Energy Institute, Madrid, Spain


Theoretical modelling of semiconductors

Prof. Tangui Le Bahers

Laboratoire de Chimie, ENS Lyon, CNRS/Université Claude Bernard, Lyon, France

Introduction to plasmonics applied to light-driven catalytic reactions

Dr. Valérie Caps

ICPEES, CNRS/University of Strasbourg, France

Valérie Caps

In-situ/Operando characterization of photocatalysts

Prof. Mohamad El-Roz

Laboratoire Catalyse et Spectrochimie, ENSICAEN, Normandie Université/CNRS, Caen, France

Studying light-induced processes by in-situ transmission electron microscopy.

Dr. Michael Seifner

DTU Nanolab & NanoPhoton, Technical University of Denmark, Lyngby, Denmark


Energy applications of photocatalysis & photoelectrochemistry

Prof. Elena Selli

Dipartimento di Chimica, Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy


Nicolas Keller, ICPEES
Institute of Chemistry and Processes for Energy, Environment and Health, CNRS,
University of Strasbourg, France

Fernando Fresno, ICP-CSIC
Instituto de Catálisis y Petroleoquímica, CSIC, Madrid, Spain


Fons Dingenen, University of Antwerp, Belgium
Dr. Patricia Garcia-Munoz, Universidad Politécnica De Madrid, Spain
Marta Kowalkinska, Gdansk University of Technology, Poland
Dr. Shinbi Lee, KENTECH, Naju, Korea
Dr. Nathan Skillen, Queen’s University Belfast, UK
Dr. Andraz Šuligoj, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia